17 week update

Standard

Originally posted on February 7, 2008

Two for one! Aren’t you guys feeling lucky? I don’t think I’ve posted a single blog about how my pregnancy is going this time around. That’s most likely b/c I’ve been too busy throwing up to sit here and type for long.

This kid likes to surprise me. I will be totally fine for weeks, then BAM throwing up again. I have never been this sick during a pregnancy, and the meds they gave me in my first trimester just made me feel worse so I’ve just been dealing with it. If it was constant I’d be camped out in my midwives bathroom instead of my own begging for something else.

I will be 17 weeks tomorrow and have felt the baby move so much earlier this time than I ever have. At my 13 week appointment I told my midwife I thought I was crazy b/c I was already feeling little flutters. She told me it’s totally possible since I’ve been through this twice before. Last week the stronger pokes started and although it’s not consistent yet, I love just laying in bed trying to make him/her move.

I have an appointment this afternoon and am taking Alaina with me. She is so excited about hearing the baby’s heartbeat and getting help the midwife. When I was pg with Addison and Alaina was only a tiny thing she would stand Lainey up on a chair and have her help find the heartbeat and measure me so I can’t wait to see how today goes. I think it’s gonna be a lot of fun for Alaina.

She is so excited about having another baby. Well, I should rephrase that. She is excited about having a brother. We keep trying to warn her that it could be a girl and she’s not hearing it. Her standard response is, “No, we already have a sister and don’t need another one. We need a brother.” She has named him Rudolph and sings Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer to my belly everyday. It cracks me up. Here’s the link to a video of it. I can’t figure out how to put it right into my blog on WordPress. Just copy and paste it into your address bar.

We will hopefully be finding out in the next week or two if it’s a boy or a girl. I am so excited to start shopping!!
I have an appointment this afternoon and will find out how my second 1 hour glucose test went. I’m optimistic since I haven’t heard from them yet. After I failed the last one a couple months ago they called me the next day to tell me I hadn’t passed. I do not want to have to do the three hour this time, so please keep your fingers crossed. Having GD was so not fun and I’d rather not deal with it again.

Leave a Reply

