First night at the Birth Center

Standard

Tonight we had our introduction to the Birth Center. The place is AWESOME! It’s a very soothing atmosphere. It is basically like a three bedroom home. When you come in in labor you get to pick which room is yours. There’s even a bread machine in the kitchen. I was cracking up and wondering if anyone really bakes bread while they are in labor!
After we picked the kids up from Alyssa and Jason’s house I was talking to the girls about a decision Steve and I had made. For a couple months now I’ve been thinking it would be really great to have the girls there when Noah is born. Especially now that I will be at the Birth Center they can be as involved in the process as we want them to be. The midwife even said they are ok with the kids helping “catch” the baby like the dads do sometimes. A couple came to speak about their experience there and mentioned that they had all of their children there for the birth. I was so excited when they said that b/c I’ve been wanting to talk to someone that had done that. Their children were 5, 4, and 2 and they said each of them did awesome and have very positive memories. The mom did a lot of her laboring out in the living room area with them and then when she finally needed to go back to her room the kids stayed out with their grandma. They brought the kids in just for the very end to see him be born. I think I will only have them in there if all goes according to plan and we have the water birth. I figure that way the blood and mess is a little more masked. The conversation went a little something like this:

Me: Hey girls, daddy and I were talking and thought maybe you’d like to be there when your little brother is born.
Alaina: Ok, I’ll be there.
Addi: No thank you. I’ll just stay home and watch Little People.

Now, both of their reactions cracked me up because I totally knew that is what their opinions would be and it was one of those moments where you really had to be there to appreciate the tone with which they responded. I figured that would be how they responded but it was just too funny the way they said it. Alaina was very matter of fact about it, almost as if she had thought about forever and was just waiting for the invite. It was like she was RSVPing to a party. And Addi made it very clear that TV was a much higher priority than witnessing her brother come into the world.

A few other cool things about tonight. Since they got the certification for water birth in February only 2 of the births at the center have been out of the water. The couple that came and spoke tonight also did a water birth and what I thought was so cool was that aside from unwrapping the cord from the baby’s neck the dad completely did the delivery while in the tub with the mom. The midwife helped him and guided him on what to do. The mom said she had to go back and watch the video b/c she couldn’t even remember if the midwife touched her at all during the delivery.
The midwife who spoke tonight, Beth, also said that if I wanted she would throw together a sibling class really quick so I could prepare the girls and they could see where they would be. This is why I love midwives. She’s willing to do this because ONE person is interested in it.

I left the Birth Center so excited and looking forward to getting the birth experience I want this time.

5 responses »

  1. Your midwife sounds like a DREAM! I can’t wait to hear about the birth experience. Sounds like it will be awesome. I love Addi’s response. LOL.

  2. I’m soo excited for you! I wish that birthing center was done when i was pregnant. Just reading your blog makes me want to get pregnant and do the homebirth all over again…{{{Hugs}}}

  3. Wow, TOY little people trump a REAL little person?! That is so priceless! I hope you have the birth experience of your dreams, and it sounds like this place will give it to you.

  4. I also meant to say that even though Emma’s birth wasn’t a water birth (standard hospital delivery), it was natural and Scott did get to deliver her. Once her shoulders were out, I pulled her the rest of the way out onto my chest. Absolutely AWESOME. You will love that, it’s one of my most cherished memories.

    That being said, I know that having such an amazing birth with Emma is why I was so sickeningly disappointed with Reid’s c-section. I don’t mean to be a downer in any way, and hope you know I’m saying this as a friend who cares for you, but it was the catapult for my PPD. I wish I had prepared myself mentally that it was even a possibility. It could have made all the difference in the world. So please do yourself that favor, even though the chance is very remote for you.

    I just KNOW you are going to have the most amazing birth experience with Noah, and wish nothing less for you!

Leave a Reply

