I’ve never been this pregnant before!

Standard

40 weeks! Had an appointment this morning. The nurse walked in the room, looked at my chart and said, “OH, it’s your day today!” I laughed and said, “Ha! I wish!” She said, “Well it’s your due date.” to which I responded, “Yeah, if only someone would have let the baby know that!” I’m 2cm dilated, 50% effaced, and he’s still way up at a -3 station. Beth asked if I had any signs that labor may be near. I told her I have no idea! LOL Having never actually gone into labor on my own I have no clue. I’ve been really nauseous and have lost two pounds this week. I feel like I’m back in the beginning stages of morning sickness. It’s the worst at night, so I’m keeping this short so I can head to bed. I just got the girls in bed and Steve is off seeing the new Batman movie so I can actually get to bed early tonight. Oh, yeah, that’s another thing that’s bothering me. I cannot sleep. It sucks. I wake up randomly each night and just can’t go back to sleep. Last night I was up from about 2:30-4:30. I keep having these very vivid dreams about labor and the baby and they keep me from sleeping. Did you know that Phoebe, from Friends, is a midwife and that Noah is going to come out the size of a 4 month old? Oh, and I’m also going to give birth in my sleep and wake up and find him laying in bed with me. If only. These are just a few random examples of the fun dreams I’ve had. Although, sometimes my waking up is due to the fact that I haven’t really eaten during the day and I have to have my standard bagel with butter and cinnamon sugar to get back to bed. 😛

Aside from that I’m actually feeling really good! I never thought I’d be saying that while on the verge of being overdue. I think it’s awfully cruel to give a woman a specific date. You should get a “due month” instead, because technically you aren’t “over due” until 42 weeks. I’m just trying to enjoy what little sleep I am getting because I know that number is going to dwindle very quickly once Noah’s here. They are much easier to take care of when they are in the belly, not out.

Oh, one more thing I wanted to write about (this is not nearly as short as I expected!)-Yesterday I was getting the girls settled in for a movie in the afternoon and the phone rang. It was my osteopathic doctor, Angela. She said that she had thought about me when she heard about the Birth Center and just wanted to call to see if I was ok and tell how great her experiences at Goshen Hospital had been. She told me a little about her first birth with the midwives and reassured me that they will still make sure I get the birth I want even at the hospital. I am seriously amazed at how much my doctors/midwives actually care about me. They don’t have to look at my chart to remember my name. They don’t tell me the same information over and over again b/c they can’t remember if they have told me already. They know my baby’s name and refer to him as Noah in conversation. They know how much my girls love helping out and so they help lift them up and down off chairs to be their assistants. They know my biggest fears about birth and are doing everything they can to make me not afraid. When I have appointments with them I truly feel like I am their only patient. I was seriously a big ball of emotions when I got off the phone with her. Never before have I had a medical professional take time out of their schedule to just call and chat to see how I’m feeling. I’ve just been speechless at how I am treated and told Steve that if we ever move I would love to move closer to the Goshen area b/c everyone I’ve ever dealt with had just been fantastic.
That’s all for tonight. I’m heading up before it gets dark enough for me to see this full moon that is supposedly going to put me into labor 🙂

5 responses »

  1. Congrats on 40 weeks! 🙂 I’ve been there. With Sean I went 41.5 weeks. I hope you don’t have to wait that long.

    I got all choked up when you were talking about your midwives and dr.s. That’s really awesome. Makes me *almost* want to do it again, the way I want.

    Thinking about you both!

  2. 40 weeks! Happy due date 🙂 I hope Noah arrives for you soon. Is the birthing center any closer to being ready?

    And, you look fantastic!

  3. wow! Its hard to believe this was ME last year. My due date was july 20th and I didnt have Corey until August 8th. It was so worth the wait. Friends/family were so impatient though and discouraging and that was hardest part of it all but i wasnt gonna give in to induction. By you waiting and willing to let your body do its job heals the pain of induction expierence with the other 2. I still think about the hospital expierences but i dont have alot of anger anymore bc i overcome the medical way of labor. Dont get discouraged in the coming days…I didnt know when i was in labor either. Luckly i finally knew when i had a slow leak of fluid and a contraction right after in the night and that started it all. You’ll be on my mind all week. by the way i did the castrol oil method 6 days overdue, it didnt work…did know if even considered it or not

  4. You sound in great spirits and look awesome Christina! Yay for being 40 weeks and Noah being just around the corner. It’s great to hear you are having a great experience. I imagine that’s a great comfort to you.

    (wondering if the full moon did the trick)…

Leave a Reply

